society awards logo

Gatorade Player of the Year Program


sofi Awards


Gatorade has been honoring the nation's top high school athletes since 1985. The Gatorade Player of the Year award recognizes exceptional athletes who embody the program's three pillars – athletic excellence, academic achievement and exemplary character.


All 50 states and the District of Columbia will have one Gatorade State High School Player of the Year chosen in the following categories - Football, Volleyball, Boys & Girls Cross Country, Boys & Girls Basketball, Boys & Girls Soccer, Softball & Baseball, Boys & Girls Track & Field. Gatorade National Player of the Year is then selected from those state winners for each of the twelve sports categories for both male and female.


This year's 2020-2021 Gatorade National Football Player of the Year is Utah's Jaxson Dart of Corner Canyon High School. Dart won the prestigious award for his accomplishments on and off the field, volunteering locally at food banks and clothing donation drives while maintaining a 3.98 GPA and playing football. He signed a National Letter of Intent to play football on scholarship at the University of Southern California this fall.


Saniya Rivers of Eugene Ashley High School in Wilmington, N.C. is the 2020-21 Gatorade National Girls Basketball Player of the Year.  Her unmatched talent on the court along with her dedication to volunteering as an instructor and mentor for young players at the MLK Center and the Brigade Boys and Girls Club made her the ultimate choice for this astounding honor.


Learn more about all the athletes


2020-2021 National Winners

Girls Cross Country: Sydney Thorvaldson | Wyoming

Boys Cross Country: Parker Wolfe | Colorado

Volleyball: Ally Batenhorst | Texas

Football: Jaxson Dart | Utah 

Girls Basketball: Saniya Rivers | North Carolina 

Boys Basketball: Chet Holmgren | Minnesota 

Boys Soccer: Bryce Boneau | Texas

Girls Soccer: Alyssa Thompson | California 

Softball: Jordyn Bahl | Nebraska

Baseball: Dylan Lesko | Georgia

Boys Track & Field: Hobbs Kessler | Michigan 

Girls Track & Field: Roisin Willis | Wisconsin 


The custom perpetual trophy is crafted in high-end acrylic with a metal logo embedment. The form is mounted atop a large wood base with gold personalization plates.


Congratulations to all the Gatorade Player of the Year winners! We are proud to partner with such an amazing program.


Learn more about Gatorade

Our Latest Tweets