society awards logo

The 56th Annual Nebula Awards Ceremony


Nebula Awards


The Nebula Awards is an annual program that recognizes the best works of science fiction and fantasy published in the United States over the past year. Honorees are voted on by members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America and named at the annual ceremony.


Winning categories of Nebula Awards include best novel, novella, novelette and short story. The organization began with a charter membership of 78 writers but has grown to include more than 1,500 members, including many of the leading writers of science fiction and fantasy. Past winners of the awards include N.K. Jemisin, Charlie Jane Anders, Ursula K. Le Guin, and Jeff VanderMeer.


The award is made from crystal with an embedded glitter spiral nebula and gemstones cut to resemble planets. The trophy itself was designed for the first awards by J. A. Lawrence, based on a sketch by Kate Wilhelm, and has remained the same ever since.


For the 56th Annual Nebula Awards, awards were presented during a virtual ceremony for the second year. The show was hosted by award-winning writer and performer Aydrea Walden. The awards ceremony took place during the 2021 SFWA Nebula Conference, which is open online to both SFWA members and nonmembers.


Watch the 56th Annual Nebula Awards Ceremony here

Our Latest Tweets